How Twitter Changed Cricket

Unfortunately I was unable to catch any of what looked like a very thrilling game between Ireland and Zimbabwe today in the World Cup.

However, I was able to keep track of the match via Twitter. Which is fast becoming the main medium through which I follow any cricket that I can’t watch live or on TV.

‘Watching’ any sporting event on Twitter can be tremendously exciting but also hugely frustrating.

For a start, you’re obviously not actually watching the game; you make do with vines, short videos, the occasional GIF, or picture.

It is in a way more rewarding than watching the actual game, you certainly feel like you’ve accomplished something once you’ve garnered the state of play via a plethora of incredulous tweets and slowly buffering videos.

The frantic scrolling through your timeline to see a quickly growing score or a tumble of wickets is fast becoming the way in which I am consuming this World Cup.

With the time difference not being kind on those of us in the UK, I’m struggling to stay up for all the games I want to. Sadly, work and social commitments don’t accept the Cricket World Cup as a valid reason for being a six-week recluse. Ridiculous if you ask me!

While I am in a constant battle to try and catch the highlights of what I’ve missed, I am incapable of waiting until the afternoon to watch them. Instead I will lie in bed as soon as I’m awake and check how the match unfolded via Twitter.

I’m sure that many traditionalists and technophobes will say the only way to appreciate a game is to watch it, or perhaps read the post-match report. But in this increasingly social media obsessed world, Twitter is now a fundamental aspect of my cricketing life.

Not only can I follow the game’s incidents, but I can also instantly gauge other supporters reactions to the action. This is where Twitter has moved ahead of traditional media outlets in their coverage of sport.

Over the last two years or so, through being able to interact with other cricket fans and exchange opinions and analyses of the game, I have learnt far more about the game than I have in nearly a decade of watching old players debate the same old rubbish on TV.

It may not seem like it to the casual observer, but cricket is at the cutting edge of a new style of sports consumption, and I’m addicted.

 

 

Leave a Reply

